OCT 19, 2022

CN Honours Leaders in Safety

CN had the honour of celebrating retired and active employees from field operations for their exemplary leadership in safety on June 23, 2022 in Montreal.

Guests and members of their families attended an inaugural ceremony of CN’s Wall of Outstanding Achievements in Safety, followed by a reception and ceremony where two awards were handed out. One recognized CN’s Lifetime Leaders in Safety, who have remained injury-free their entire careers of 35 years or more in field operations. The other recognized CN teams who have reduced injuries to record low levels in 2021. Our 2021 Leaders in Safety picked up awards on behalf of their teams during this memorable day. The names of our Lifetime Leaders in Safety have been placed on the Wall of Outstanding Achievements in Safety, which is on permanent display in the CN headquarters lobby in Montreal, (QC).

Lifetime Leader in Safety Award

Tim Stambaugh from Ryley, (AB), who started his career at CN in track forces in 1976, was a recipient of the Lifetime Leader in Safety Award. He attended the ceremony with his son, Evan, a CN railroader for four years. “The fact that CN is going through the time and effort to ensure safety is of first importance, and to plan something like this event is very important and will be noticed by employees out in the field. I am very grateful for the opportunity to come to Montreal to receive this award.”

The presence of CN’s Leaders in Safety made this day inspiring and memorable for all who attended. Their remarkable achievement and contribution to CN’s safety culture moves us closer to an injury-free workplace and being the safest railroad in North America.

CN Honours Leaders in Safety


Safety Leadership Awards Winners

From left to right: Martin Guimond (Vice-President Transportation East and Award Presenter), Victor Brooks, James Astley, Herman Searcy-Plunkett, Mike Stevenson, Brandon Myers, Shawn Will, Mickey Earnst, James Cone, Rob Reilley (Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer), Sean Madigan, Tracy Robinson (President and chief Executive Officer), Helen Genoway, Matthew McClaren (Assisant Vice-President Safety), Rick MacMillan, Radmila Cuk, Tom Brown (Retired Assistant Vice-President Safety) Rich Gerrow, Bill Perry, Crag Boychuck.