Share this page


Community Board CN

Indigenous Advisory Council

Operating within or adjacent to nearly 200 communities of 110 First Nations and Métis peoples, we are increasing our engagement with Indigenous communities, identifying and fostering business opportunities, and promoting employment with CN.

To further strengthen our relations with Indigenous communities, we created a CN Indigenous Advisory Council (IAC), a new independent body comprised of 12 accomplished, respected and inspirational leaders of First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities from across Canada. The IAC’s wise counsel to CN’s Board of Directors and President and Chief Executive Officer helps CN deepen its relationship with Canada’s Indigenous peoples.

In 2022, the IAC initiated a research project to serve as an important baseline by which IAC progress can be measured, provide additional insight into Indigenous impressions of CN and allow the IAC to test potential recommendations for action.


  • Ms. Roberta Louise Jamieson, OC, Kanyen'kehà:ka
  • The Honourable Murray Sinclair, C.C., M.S.M., Mizanay (Mizhana) Gheezhik


  • Stephen Augustine - Anishinaabe Nation [Mi’kmaq Grand Council] (New Brunswick)
  • Leanne Bellegarde - Peepeekisis Cree Nation (Saskatchewan)
  • Tabatha Bull - Nipissing First Nation (Ontario)
  • Kateri Coade - Abegweit First Nation [Mi’kmaq] (Prince Edward Island)
  • Dr. Marie Delorme - Métis (Alberta)
  • Phil Fontaine - Sagkeeng First Nation (Manitoba)
  • Ricky G.L. Fontaine - Innu community of Uashat-Maliotenam (Québec)
  • Udlu (Udloriak) Hanson - Inuit (Nunavut)
  • Mark Podlasly - Nlaka’pamux Nation (British Columbia)
  • Denise Pothier - Mi’kmaw Nation (Nova Scotia)